In the Shadows of the Dance

Today we had part three of the workshop ‘Your choice, Your future’ at work. I tend to find these kind of workshops interesting, because it reminds me of my time at the social academy and my work as a manager in social services, back in the day, before I decided to become an author and work part-time at the bank.

This afternoon completely knocked me off my feet. I’m left in awe. This story is not about me, but about the woman sitting next to me during the workshop, Diana Belfor. I’ve known Diana for a couple of months now. If you’d ask me to describe her, I’d say she’s a upbeat, caring and modest person. Always friendly, interested in what you have to say, which leads to the effect of her getting to know you, but you not knowing very much about her. And there is so much to know.

Diana used to be a dancer. She still dances, though not with the frequency she used to. And she’s not just any dancer. She danced for 2 Brothers on the 4th Floor and even Lionel Richie. When asked what makes her blood run faster, she starts to talk about dancing and her whole face lights up. 

She gives dancing workshops, in her spare time. Dancing workshop for children. Children from different cultures. Who live in the shadows. Children with down syndrome. Their parents love their children very much, but don’t know a lot of other people who can relate. Diana teaches Chinese children, Turkish, Morrocan. These children have so much fun dancing and communicating with each other. The added bonus? Their parents are connecting with each other as well. All of a sudden they have other people to talk to who understand what they’re going through. 

And she set this all up under her own steam. The parents pay a little something to pay for the rent of the place and she orginizes the rest, sometimes with the help of her friends. No funding. When I pointed out to her she could probably raise money for such an activity, meaning she could teach more children, her modesty came to the surface. 


But it shouldn’t be about money, I just want those children and their parents to connect.

This world is a better place with people like you in it. I understand it might be scary to go through the process of getting your workshop out in the open, but just for the record…

Any time you want to step out of the shadows and into the light, I’ll be there. I will help you to write a plan, how to approach the right fundraisers and get you some media attention. Because you deserve it . They deserve it.

You made me remember why I used to love my job in social services. It’s because there are people like you. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

