Ramblings of a modern druidess – When Time is moving in fast-forward

You know that feeling of not really living your life, but your life being lived? Sounds a bit vague, I know, but that’s how I’ve been feeling lately.
I recently started a new job, because I can’t live by my pen. Well, not yet, at least. I’m sure that would change if either mister Joss Whedon or J.J. Abrams would call to tell me they’re desperately in love with my book and when can they start filming? 
Until that moment, however, bills need to be paid and books don’t write themselves, so a part-time job on the side seemed like a wise thing to do.

And it’s nice. Nice to be part of something again, as I was self-employed for quite a few years. It can get lonely. It’s also exhausting, because every damn thing is new to me. I chose something completely out of my comfort zone, so also the professional language is something I have to make my own. 
I’m not complaining though. Like I said, it’s nice and the atmosphere is good. Very important to me. 
Writing is on a tight schedule as a result. I now go over the remarks from my manager, editor, proofreader, etc. on Friday’s. The weekend is reserved for actual writing. Oh, and my social life. Do I even have one? I can’t really remember 😉

One thing’s also new. I started riding again. Horses, that is. I used to be a real horse-girl. Could ride before I could walk. Then I went to college and had to give it up. I always promised myself that if I would have a job with regular working hours, I would take it up again.

So three weeks ago I did. I freakin’ LOVE it! I thought I was in pretty good shape with all the running and such, but riding is a whole different ballgame. Man, I am totally drained! My instructor tells me I work too much. Let the horse work for you. Yes, yes, I remember, but easier said than done. My muscles don’t seem to remember much, except for the actually staying on the horse part. Which I consider a plus, don’t get me wrong. 

For now, there’s another working week on the horizon and lots to do next weekend. October is slowly sneaking up on me and my first short-story is also due this November, so that too needs to shift into second gear. 
Enjoy the week folks! Stay true to your mind, heart and soul xxx

Leave a Reply

