Ramblings of a modern druidess – to wait or not to wait, that is the question

IMG_1889So, life as an author with a publishing house is pretty exciting. I feel very fortonate to have such wonderful team members.

Elizabeth, my book manager, is always there when I need her feedback and we’re now going back and forth over a possible release date.

Waiting can be a hard thing to do. To release it too soon, may damage my marketing options. Yes, yes, these are things to be considered now. My book is set round Samhuinn, more commenly known by it’s American counterpart, Halloween. So the end of October would be kind of perfect.
All the time in the world to set things up, get some teasers out there in the build up to Samhuinn and then release it to the world.

But, October! I mean, I actually have to scroll down on my calender to reach it. It’s so far away! Nonsense of course, time flies and there’s plenty of things to be done. Like, I don’t know, finish the second book or something *coughs*.

We’re a little ahead of our time-schedule, but not quite enough to make Midsummer, which was another serious option. At least, I think we won’t make it. Printing will take at least a month and not everything is done yet.

So, all in all, a lot of signs are telling me to be patient, to wait. I know a lot of my author friends are in the same predicament right now. And I’m sure everybody has been in a situation where you have asked yourself: wait, or not wait? Which is the wiser option?

Tell me, what are your thoughts? What would you do? Or, what did you do? Would love to hear from you!

3 thoughts on “Ramblings of a modern druidess – to wait or not to wait, that is the question

  1. Never wait. Good luck and God’s speed, Lisa.

  2. Wait! It’s most important to have everything well set instead of rushing and ending up regretting it because you could’ve possibly done more or done better. Also if October is significant in the story, that’s a better time to do it. I’m also launching in October because it’s significant to the story. Things like that matter a lot to me 🙂 But if for no other reason, if you know it will hurt sales to do it too soon and waiting will benefit the book, then wait for sure.

  3. Lisa says:

    It’s interesting to hear people’s point of view. Both here and on facebook. You guys have certainly given me food for thought. Thanks for your input!

Leave a Reply

