Welcome to the Booktrope family

So I didn’t want to post this yesterday, as people might think it’s a joke. A little over a year ago I published my first novel, The Elemental, albeit through self-publishing. But I was very happy. I had a book signing in my local bookstore, the newspaper wanted an interview with me, I got to babble about myself on the radio for half an hour, online sales were going well and the reviews were mostly positive. What more can a girl want?

Well, self-publishing is certainly a gift to any new writer who wants to give it a go, but it has one down side. You have to do it, and you alone. And that means everything. Every little detail, every promotion, it’s all up to you. I think one of the main reasons we keep trying to get accepted by a publishing house.

Booktrope Publishing is what people would call a hybrid publisher. You get to pick your own team and we all start ‘making money’ when and if the book sells. So no big advances, but certainly very fair royalties and a wonderful crew! Like with many other publishers, I sent them my manuscript. Of course I got my hopes up, but I was also ready for dissapointment. Rejection is something you learn to deal with in this business. You improve yourself and your book whereever you can, but other than that, it’s you and thousands of others just like you out there. It’s not personal. There are more writers than publishers, it’s as simple as that.

To my complete astonishment, however, a mail with attached documents for me to read arrived. At first glance, I thought it was my manuscript returned, but it was not. It was a contract for 5 years! I must have looked really silly, mouth wide open and some non-coherent sounds. I remember my husband asking ‘What is it?’

‘I think I’ve been accepted.’ 

Epic words. At least to me. Next morning when I woke up, first thing I did was check to see if the documents were still there or if I just dreamed it all. Thankfully, they were still there. So now I find myself having a book manager, an editor, a proofreader and a cover designer. It’s a whole new world. My editor is scratching away with her red marker as we speak *bites nails* and my book manager has tons of experience, so I couldn’t be more happy. Even if every page comes back filled with red. I don’t care, my book can only benefit from it.

So now what? Well, I’m still working on The Empath, part II of The Fire Trilogy, that will continue as usual. It might take a little longer to see the light of day, because first we will re-release The Elemental. That’s okay though, gives me more time to perfect the story and think about the final book.

  

I don’t know when The Elemental will be released, but I’m aiming for this Summer. Also very exciting is the upcoming Get Down With The Awethors event on April 12th. Over a hundred authors will participate for you to chat with, ask questions and win books, merchandise and other cool stuff! So don’t miss it. Just log in on facebook and you’re good to go. 

Leading up to the event, the lovely and talented Christie Stratos from Proof Positive interviewed me. You can read all about it here. She will be interviewing other authors these next few days, so be sure to check those out as well.

It’s been an exciting few weeks and I’ve got a feeling I’m just at the beginning of this great adventure. Can you feel it? There’s magic in the air!

Leave a Reply

