Ramblings of a modern druidess – The accident

I finally did it. I enrolled in my first debutant author competition in my own country. I seldom write in Dutch, except for my local newspaper and for the music venue I’m working for, but other than that, nothing.

IMG_1333.JPG
The people can vote for their favourite story and the jury will vote. As it’s all in Dutch and I do need your votes desperately, I decided to translate it for you. So you’ll know whether you like it or not.

Unfortunately it’s a true story. I saw this happen in front of my eyes. The following is my way of honouring the victim.

The accident

It was Wednesday, yesterday afternoon. Around noon, although I never pay much attention to these things. Besides, the weather was dreary. Dry, raining, raining, dry. I’d had a couple of showers already. It happened on the Van Boetzelaerstraat. Maybe I should have paid better attention. Maybe things would have ended up differently, but again, these are not the things I concern myself with.

I did see something out of the corner of my eye, but the crash was unexpectedly hard, nonetheless. I fell onto the road, my head warm and sticky. Voices around me sounded panicky, someone stood beside me and started to make a call. It was bad. But I already knew that. The road beneath my body became colder and colder and my head was starting to float. People around me kept asking questions, but I didn’t hear them very well or I couldn’t understand them. I do remember someone saying I lived across the street and that gave me a strange feeling of comfort. People knew who I was. So the people who loved me would know what happened to me.

I don’t know if you even realize what you have done. You drove on without a single glance. Perhaps your radio was on and you didn’t feel a thing. Didn’t hear a thing. Maybe you would have been shocked if you did notice. Jumping out of your car, your body standing over me protectively, a worried look on your face. You would have stayed with me, till the end. That is how I want to remember you. Not as someone who did a hit and run, because that sounds so cold. As cold as I am now.

But I’m not thinking about that. In my version I was important, with people who love me and that’s my final thought, as I feel my body go up and down for its last breath. I was important, even though I was just a cat.

If you were moved by this story and liked it, please go to this link Editio and press the like button with the little heart. You can also share my story or leave a comment. I would love to hear your thoughts.

The competition ends November 12 and the winners will be announced in February 2015, at the debutant ball! It all sounds very exciting and I hope to be there, but I can’t do it without you 🙂

Leave a Reply

