Ramblings of a modern druidess

“Rain, stupid, stupid rain.” As I’m sitting in my favourite coffeehouse, jotting down these words, I’m reminded of the film Impromptu and the fore-mentioned quote in said film. It doesn’t exactly do wonders for my state of mind. Suddenly I have a longing for a nice warm blanket, a hot coco and some Chopin.

20140508-151749.jpg
Alas, I have a deadline. Actually, I have several. The new edition of our Folk Harp magazine is coming up and the formal, educational part of my OBOD training has come to an end. As I mentioned last week, this year is kind of a special year for me. Ten years have passed since I first joined the Order. It’s unbelievable how much can change in a decade.

Do you sometimes wonder where you will be ten years from now? And can you actually imagine a life so far ahead of you? It’s important to live in the now, I think, with appropriate time to reflect on the past and to look to the future and the things we want from life every now and then.

As I’m looking back on these last ten years, it becomes crystal clear it’s absolutely impossible to try and see yourself in the future ten years ahead. I could never have imagined some of the things I’m doing now, ten years ago. I was in my late twenties and my whole outtake on life was just different.

Social media wasn’t a part of my daily life for instance, or just barely and suddenly it made me curious. Ten years from now, will I be a person who lives and breaths social media or will people turn against it and will we go back to basics? I honestly couldn’t tell you. Or what I would want it to be. This year, for example, I’m starting to experience a subtle feeling of caution. Especially with regards to the use of my iPhone. I think it’s too important to me. So I’m restricting myself and I have to. I ‘need’ these rules, otherwise it won’t work. So no iPhone on the table when I’m with someone.

Of course, the first thing I do when that someone has to visit the loo, is grab my iPhone. How pathetic. But hey, it’s a start and I’m making an effort. For me, by the way, not for others. And I find myself wondering what kind of effect that will have on my life in, let’s say, one year. Let alone a decade. Will it increase my attachment to my iPhone or will I come to hate it? Hmmm, interesting, isn’t it.

It’s a good thing we don’t know what the future holds, but sometimes, you crave for just a tiny sneak peek. At least, I do. Do you?

Until next week peeps, live in the now, love the now. Xxx

If you want to follow me on facebook or twitter, here are my links xxx

Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook

Leave a Reply

