Ramblings of a modern druidess

“But you’re not really doing rituals in nature, right? I mean, what if people see you?”

My first reaction was to laugh, but then I realized she was dead serious. So I cleared my throat and tried to hide my grin. Yes, I really do rituals. Yes, most of them are out in the open, preferably at the beach or in the forest and I’m seldom alone. Sometimes even with dozens of people. Yes, we sacrifice naked young men. Oh hang on, we don’t. Bugger.

There are little day-to-day rituals which I perform in the comfort of my home, in my car, or even in a cafe or restaurant, when someone calls me for example to ask for a bit of healing or positive vibes. But the seasonal festivals, I celebrate outside. At least as much as is humanly possible.

I guess it’s not necessary, but it does help me to reach a certain state of mind more quickly. I know some of my brothers and sisters have that with clothing. They feel more comfortable wearing robes, a pretty dress or a cloak. Others have it with attributes. The right cauldron, the perfect athame or sword, the right wand (yes, we have wands, Harry Potter doesn’t have a patent on it, you know), the right chalice and so on. I appreciate all those things, but performing a seasonal ritual inside is the only factor which makes it slightly more difficult for me. We all have our weaknesses.

I have had several ‘mentors’ if you will along the way, who would all tell me that none of this is necessary to perform the perfect ritual. I know a lot of Christians feel the same about the church. It is the house of God and it serves a great purpose and a sense of community, but you can be or feel close to God anywhere. The church, in this light, is a compliment to our beliefs. Just as I view a stone circle as a compliment to my beliefs. Do I need the stone circle to feel connected to nature? No, of course not, but sometimes, sometimes it helps.

As far as being worrried about other people seeing me or us, it actually doesn’t bother me. Some of the festivals are more dark, less appropiate for children I would say, so those rituals take place at night, when the little ones are fast asleep. Well, one assumes, in these days you never know πŸ˜‰
But I’m never scared for other people to see me. I do realize it might be scary the other way around. I can imagine that sometimes we conjure a pretty amazing picture in the landscape. I’m not blind, I do notice when people in the distance stop to watch. Sometimes they even wait until we’re done and ask us some questions, out of curiosity. I always like that and take plenty of time to explain what it is they witnessed.

As to what it is I, or we, do, I’d like to leave you with this link.
A Magical Journey

It describes an initiation. Names have been left out of course, but this was such a beautiful occasion and it explains rather well what I believe and hold dear. Hope you’ll enjoy.

Wishing you dragons to fly away on and love and light in your heart.

Until next week folks!

20140312-194842.jpg

16 thoughts on “Ramblings of a modern druidess

  1. Yvonne Ryves says:

    I find with ritual, ceremony and initiations out in nature that those of us participating are the only ones around, yet once we have finished others appear. It often feels as if we have stepped out of ‘ordinary reality’ for a while and only when we return can we see others and be seen by them

    • Lisa says:

      Yvonne, you’ve hit the nail on the head. Our more ‘private’ rituals are never interrupted or watched. Gotta love how cloaking works πŸ™‚
      I do not mind, however, with some rituals. We’ve had children asking us if they could join in for our dance around the Maypole, while their parents nodded their approval with a smile. That also makes me happy, to share a bit of my world with others πŸ™‚

      • Yvonne Ryves says:

        We’ve had the same drumming in our local stone circle. Tourists who watch and then ask questions and then are offered drums to join us πŸ™‚ All good.

      • Lisa says:

        Yes, it’s a lovely feeling to share with others πŸ™‚ Love drumming by the way, make them myself. Got a bit carried away, now have seven, whoops! In my defense, one is a Bodhran I did not make, so only six actually *grin* What sort of drums do you use?

      • Yvonne Ryves says:

        I made mine too. I have four that are really mine which no one else uses, three deer and one elk plus another…six which are shared ones for drum circles etc. I used to make them for others and sometimes held workshops so people could make their own but as I live in Ireland postage increases on the materials meant I had to charge more for them so I’ve stopped now. I really love making them though.

      • Lisa says:

        That’s so nice! I love making them as well. It’a a wonderful journey to make and it’s automatically connected to you, because you put so much energy in it.

        I made each drum for a specific purpose. A moon drum for example made of reindeer and I have three horses. One from a black horse, which I use at Samhuinn, they are so beautiful and each has their own unique sound.

      • Yvonne Ryves says:

        Oh I don’t have a horse drum at all 😦 Like you I love the uniqueness of them and the way they all work so differently. I also love the deep connection I have with my own drums πŸ™‚

      • Lisa says:

        It’s pretty amazing, isn’t it? I also feel really connected to my harps, because the sound kind of resonates through your body, like the drum does. One day I hope to be able to make my own!

      • Yvonne Ryves says:

        I’m like that with singing bowls apart from the desire to make one that is…although that would be cool

      • Lisa says:

        Ooow, that would be very cool indeed. Working with something other than wood would be a challenge for me, but one I’d definitely be willing to try πŸ™‚

      • Yvonne Ryves says:

        I did silver smithing for a year so have worked with metal but not on the scale of a singing bowl. In Nepal last year I saw a guy making them though. Didn’t look too hard lol

      • Lisa says:

        My partner is a goldsmith, so he makes jewelry mostly, but I bet he’d be interested in this as well. Did you like Nepal? I loved it. Also travelled through India, but there was less of a connection there.

      • Yvonne Ryves says:

        Sounds a useful partner πŸ™‚ Yes I loved Nepal. I’ve been to India twice and I fact was in India before I went to Nepal. Like you can take of leave India! Nepal is special

      • Lisa says:

        It is indeed πŸ™‚

  2. alienorajt says:

    Beautiful initiation rite -and, like both of you, my experience of ritual outside tends to be that the ‘cloak’ ensures privacy. Having said that, there is one place we go to, with a strong Fey presence, which inevitably brings people to it!

Leave a Reply

