My Writing Process Blog Tour

I was so proud and humbled to be invited by the talented Jack Croxall to participate in a blog tour concerning writing process. The idea is that you answer a few questions and then tag some other authors to do the same. So the Blog Tour will get bigger and bigger every week. I love the whole blogging process, so I almost screamed ‘yes’ when asked! Below are my answers as well as a bit of info on the excellent authors I tagged.

The questions:

1) What am I working on?

I’m currently working on the second part of The Fire Trilogy, The Empath. It is basically the same timeline as The Elemental, but from Tristan’s point of view. So we learn a lot more about his motives and The Company he works for. It also creates a larger world than The Elemental. There are new people and people you already know, like Alan, Charles and Roy. It has a different ending though, but you’ll just have to wait and see.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

Well, that’s a bit of a problem to begin with. I’m still not sure where to put The Elemental on a bookshelf. My first instinct would be Paranormal, but it is fiction, not non-fiction. Most of the books I see on the shelf, if they even have a Paranormal section, are non-fiction. It’s certainly not fantasy either, nor is it horror or mystery. I guess you could say it’s Sex and the City meets Charmed. So what kind of genre would that be? If you know, do get in touch! Because I’d love to know as well.

3) Why do I write what I do?

Write about what you know, was one of the first pieces of advice I got from fellow authors. So that’s what I’m doing. My life isn’t nearly as exciting as Catherine’s, but I do know a thing or two about what she and her friends are going through. I guess I just love to write about women and men who are not afraid to use their gifts to do some good in our world. I tried to make them as normal as possible though, because to me, they are. Normal people who just happen to have a gift.

4) How does my writing process work?

Writing process? One should have an actual process? Oh dear.
No, I do have a process of course, but it’s going out the window on a very regular basis. Sometimes with my iPad attached. I’m a Fire person, so I’ve been known to get a tad agitated when I’m experiencing a writers block. Usually I have the outline of the book in my head. Everything is clear to me, except for little details. However, during the writing process characters do tend to run away with me. Sometimes I add stuff, sometimes things get scratched from the book. On a good day though, I go to my favourite coffeehouse, Barista Café and write for several hours. They are actually my failsafe, as they’re constantly nagging me about deadlines. Gotta love them.

I’ve decided to tag two authors who both get my blood pumping while reading their books, Mikey Campling, author of the Darkeningstone saga, and Michelle Diana Lowe, author of Heaven Calls for an Angel.

Mikey Campling was born in Scarborough which, frankly, is not where he would’ve chosen. He was, he says, given very little say in the matter. Although he grew up in Yorkshire, he resists all attempts to classify him by Northern stereotypes, which is just the sort of bloody-minded attitude you’d expect from a Yorkshireman. He now lives in Devon, on the edge of the wilds of Dartmoor, with his wife, two children, a black Labrador and a fish called Bernard.
On the subject of writing, he says: “I love the savage business of writing – it’s edgy, exciting and much harder work than everyone thinks.”

20140309-201246.jpg

Michelle Diana Lowe is an author who writes about real life, real people, real experiences. She loves to write from the heart, capturing emotions on a deep and true level. Her characters are all an extension of her, in some way. Her motto is: “I live to write, rather than write to live.”
20140309-201326.jpg

Check out their beautiful covers, and be sure to click on them for more info!

Mikey Campling
Michelle Diana Lowe

Leave a Reply

