Ramblings of a modern druidess

“Oh, you’re a writer! How lovely. What genre?”

Uhm, right. And that’s when I was lost for words. Genre? I want to go with Supernatural, but though this is an established genre in tv-land, not so much in bookland. You have Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Mystery, Horror, Crime, Thriller of course, but where is the Supernatural section? Even Waterstones, my kingdom of Heaven, doesn’t have a Supernatural section. Well, at least not the ones I go to.

And it’s a specific kind of Supernatural as well, my book doesn’t contain vampires, zombies or werewolves, so not that kind of supernatural. My people (yes, regular people) just have gifts. Abilities. Sort of like Charmed, X-men, but not. Sigh.

Other than that, it sort of resembles Sex and the City. They shop, they drink coffee, they go out for dinner, fall in love. Oh, and they try to save our world. Minor detail, I know 😉

So I’m reaching out to anybody who’s read my book. What genre do you think it is? Or do you agree with me and should every bookstore just stock a Supernatural section from now on?

Please drop me a line. Here, or on my facebook or twitter account. And now I really must drink more coffee and get utterly annoyed by this flappy bird game. I mean, write. Did I say flappy bird? Of course not, I would never stoop so low!

Follow me on Twitter
Follow me on Facebook

20140220-123107.jpg

4 thoughts on “Ramblings of a modern druidess

  1. vonzex says:

    I usually just say it’s fantasy with X theme.

    • Lisa says:

      Hmmm, good one 🙂

      • vonzex says:

        Your average person doesn’t really care either way 😛 It can be annoying to subdivide a complex book however. I’m currently writing a fantasy that’s explained with science fiction, so is it science fiction or fantasy? This is an annoying issue for many of us.

      • Lisa says:

        Ah yes. And if it’s set in the future, but doesn’t contain any futuristic things or ideas, is it still sci-fi? In your cae, however, I would go with whatever genre best describes it. Or who you want to reach as an audience 🙂

        But it is difficult, isn’t it? Normally, I just explain what it’s about, but when you have to give one word, one genre, than it gets tricky.

Leave a Reply

