Ramblings of a modern druidess

Okay, so these last couple of weeks have been about relationships. Friends, acquantances, collegues, everybody seems to have this sudden urge to talk to me about their relationship and their sexlife.

Now one could wonder what has changed in me that my forehead now apparanty reads: “confess your secret desires to me”, but I think we’ll leave that for now.

I do realise that when people know I’m a druid priestess, they get visions or have ideas what my life looks like. I can tell you up front; they are often wrong. It is not one big orgy, we are not all open minded about having an ‘open relationship’, I seldom dance naked around a bonfire and I do not sacrifice naked young men, that last part regretfully I might add.

Do I have an open mind about sexual relationships? Yes, I do. When consent is mutual and the relationship is based on treating each other with respect.

I know people, people who are dear to me, who live by these rules.

Way too often though, nature religion is used as a ‘get out of jail free card’ when it comes to having sex with other people and someone ends up getting hurt and for the record, no, I do not approve of this behaviour.

Sex is about passion, sharing something intimate. A union between people. Whether this is a one night stand or a 40 year marriage or something else doesn’t really matter. You give something of yourself and you receive. Give respectully, receive respectfully and make sure your partner isn’t just agreeing to an open relationship for your sake, but for his or hers as well.

Do I mind talking about this? No, not at all, though I am somewhat confused on why people seem to think I understand them and can help them. I will always try though.

So feel free to pour your heart out, I will never judge someone who treats other people with respect, but honestly people, not all druids are a bunch of tree-hugging, naked dancing, orgying hippies. Though some of us are and proud of it too ๐Ÿ˜‰

Until next week peeps and remember, R.E.S.P.E.C.T., like the good song says!

20130711-154521.jpg

4 thoughts on “Ramblings of a modern druidess

  1. I do confess to being a polyamorous tree-hugger, whale lover and hummus fondler, but people are complicated enough one at a time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Nico Vermaas says:

    I am not sure that I agree with your hypothesis that nature spirituality somehow increases polyamory. There are people who prefer monogamy, and there are people who prefer polyamory, that in itself has nothing to do with spirituality. (Except perhaps when you follow a religion where that is considered ‘sinful’, then you may have to repress your real feelilngs).
    Nature spirituality sees natural behaviour, including love and sex, as something normal and good. Which often makes followers of these spirituality generally a bit less sexually repressed (I hope). But that doesn’t say anything about what these specific desires are, Be it monogamy, homosexuality, polyamory or even non-sexuality or anything else.. So I don’t think nature spirituality has anything to do with polyamory, just about being more at ease with ones own sexuality.
    And to be honest love, it is not a miracle that people tell you these things, and it is not written on your forehead either. It is much simpler than that, you tell stories and ask questions ;-).

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      Hahaha, yes I ask questions, but only when they’re friends ๐Ÿ˜‰
      Other people just tell me, now isn’t that funny.

      I agree with you that it doesn’t have so much to do with nature religion persรฉ, but I do think that because people tend to be more at ease with their own sexuality and body, you also tend to see more varieties than just plain and simple monogamy.

      And let me point out yet again that my blog does not condemn this, it was more an observation that while a lot of people involved in nature relegion are more open talking about their sexuality, doesn’t nessecarily mean they live this wild exciting sex life, though some do ๐Ÿ˜Š

      Thanks for your response by the way!

Leave a Reply

