Ramblings of a modern druidess

Today was a travelling day. I’m in the magical country of Morocco. Today we left Marrakesh, which is just a sight to be seen. This place is a treasure to your senses. The colours, the fragrances, the sounds, it takes your breath away. I thought because we have a lot of Moroccan people living in the Netherlands, I knew their culture. Fact is, I knew nothing. And if I may be so bold, I like the ‘natives’ here a lot better. Such friendly people and what a wonderful kitchen they have! Even the salespeople on the streets are very easy going and the boys and girls are very modern. I felt strangely at home.
Today we drove to Ouarzazate, also known as the Gateway to the Desert. We thought we would just have a transfer, as this was on our voucher, but it turned out that the people we were travelling with, were on a full day tour and the driver decided it was best we just tag along.

Well, I never said no to visiting an old city with a castle, especially one where parts of Gladiator and Game of Thrones are filmed. I have to admit to being slightly hopeful to see Joffrey’s body lying on the ground, but no such luck, alas.

20130320-215437.jpg
As you can see, the surrounding area of the provence of Ouarzazate is just gorgeous. Mountains and lushes fields of green interact with each other like a Tango, it’s a dance of romance and they move around each other in perfect harmony.

20130320-215337.jpg
Our journey is just beginning, but I allready feel like I’ve been here for months and I could happily stay here for quite some time.

You are a diamond in the rough Morocco, filled with raw nature and culture, but at its heart, a true gem.

Leave a Reply

