Ramblings of a modern druidess

How do you feel about dreams? Have you ever had a shared dream when you tell the person involved your dream and he or she dreamt something similar? Do you think these dreams have some significance and if so, do you try to figure out what it means?

I do, most of the time, because it doesn’t happen very often. It’s the same with recurring dreams. Most people have one which keeps on coming back. Usually until something in your life is changed or resolved.

And then we have the dreams that are not dreams, but a form of astral travel and sometimes it’s hard to figure out which is which.

This last week I’ve been having a lot of dreams. You know, the ones where the hills are alive with the sound of music. Dolby digital surround sound and kick ass Oscar award winning visual effects.

The rub is, they’re always stuffed with symbolism and leave you to put the pieces of the puzzle together. Not an unpleasant task, but a trying one nonetheless.

Google is of course a blessing created by some devine inspiration, but it’s also a maze with a million sidetracks, so you can run around in circles forever without finding the ‘right’ information. I’ve done a lot of research already, but I always keep coming back to my own intuition. Unfortunately, that too is not foolproof. My ego and my own desires get in the way of course, so to trust fully on your instincts isn’t a bad idea, but one you should handle with care.

Sometimes it helps to ask the input of others, sometimes it helps to go to the place of your dream if it’s a real place you can visit. Or you could try and visit it again through meditation.

But maybe it’s time to go back, maybe it’s time to let others in and experience this magical place through their eyes. Maybe I’m the one holding back, maybe, just maybe πŸ™‚

Until next week peeps, may your dreams be rich and magical.

20130124-130747.jpg

20 thoughts on “Ramblings of a modern druidess

  1. Ronald Lacey says:

    I know that when I want to remember what I’ve dreamed I have to wake up slow, or else all the info gets lost. there was a summer when I wrote down what I’ve dreamed that night. it’s indeed difficult to explain, but that’s something that is as old as the world.
    these recurring dreams are strange, as if it’s a sort of continuing story.
    what you told about the dreams you’ve had this week, reminded me of the Alan Parsons song ‘ Psychobabble’.. πŸ™‚

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      I had to look that up, but I see what you mean πŸ˜‰
      I totally get what you say about the info gettig lost or more like slipping away by the second. The moment you wake up, you remember the entire dream, ten seconds later just the ‘main storyline’ and in a few minutes, poof! It’s gone.
      Writing it down can be very helpful, because by doing so, it’s almost as if your brain makes a back-up to your harddrive πŸ™‚

      Funny thing, dreams. It’s one of the more magical parts of our abilities as a species I think πŸ™‚

      • Ronald Lacey says:

        a bit of a late reaction to this one..
        I wonder what’s all on my ‘harddrive’… πŸ™‚
        just a few days ago I remembered when I woke up I had an answer in my dreams that night, an answer for a life made easier.
        a pitty that I didn’t have the recalling moment for more detailed information..
        about species…I used to have a cat which ”talked in her sleep”, maybe cats have their own little dreams.. πŸ˜‰

      • Lisa Veldkamp says:

        Actually, I’m quite sure they do. Dogs and horses as well. You can see the REM stage of their sleep, it’s kind of cute to watch πŸ™‚

        Hope you’ll find that answer again. Sometimes it helps I find, to just ask for it, to dream it again. Good luck with that.

  2. Ronald Lacey says:

    well, there’s a difficult one…ask for a dream to return. did you ever manage to do so? nice that you second the part about animals dreaming.
    this winter I had some new expiriences with dreaming/sleeping. for instance, a few weeks ago I woke up in the middle of the night beacause some books fell of a cupboard. nasty thing was, that I was wide awake at that moment, so I decided to watch a DVD of The Avengers from the 60’s. mrs.peel fell asleep on a couch and she was woken up by a door slamming. it seemed like a sort of replay of what happened to me. the creeps: in the series there had been someone in the house, so I checked my front door. πŸ™‚

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      That does sound rather profetic. I always try to go with what it means to you. Regular dream interpretations can be helpful, but they also get you stuck in a certain way of thinking where you loose your own perspection along the way.

      Having said that, try not to take it to literal. Perhaps there’s someone in your life you’re not comfotable with and he or she is ‘invading’ your personal space. Perhaps even unconciously. But now I’m doing exactly which I warned against, interpreting, lol.

      Try to reach your gut-feeling, maybe you’ll get the answer straight away or maybe just a emotion. Then go from there.

      And yes, I have been able to recreate my dreams, but it takes a lot of training πŸ™‚

      • Ronald Lacey says:

        you mean that you shouldn’t ‘over-analyse’ your dreams? I guess that’s true. they needn’t point at RL ofcourse.
        I’m not sure about the part you tell about persons ‘invading’ your personal space. you think that’s something you can create unconsciously?
        I had to look up what ‘gut-feeling’ means, but there are different explenations for it. you mean, perhaps, that you have to ‘rationalize’ your dreams?
        very good of you that you manage to recreate your dreams, it’s something that is a bit extraordinary, if you’ll ask me. πŸ™‚

      • Lisa Veldkamp says:

        No, actually the opposite πŸ™‚ what I mean by ‘gut-feeling’ is to trust your instincts. Mostly you feel that in the region of your belly, hence the term ‘gut-feeling’. In your dream and right after you experienced something similar. Now chances are they weren’t letting you know you had a burglar, otherwise you would have mentioned it by now πŸ˜‰
        But you did experience something unsual and that’s when dreams try to tell us something.

        So what is this one trying to tell you? How did it make you feel? What I meant by invading is that is could represent another kind if invading instead of the very literal ‘breaking into a home’. Someone in your personal life is getting to close. Someone at work is constantly taking things out of your hands. It might not even be a negative thing, maybe just a sign for you so you become ‘aware’ of this feeling and do as you please with it. The above are just examples of how a person can ‘invade’ your life. Sometimes people come too close without them knowing they are overstepping their bounderies. Your family and your friends are close to you and you to them. They have ‘earned’ that right, not everyone has πŸ™‚

        And redreaming a dream isn’t that uncommon. If you’re interested, try googling ‘lucid dreaming’. There are lots of techniques out there to practice dreamcontrol. It just takes a lot of practice and discipline πŸ™‚

  3. Ronald Lacey says:

    no, I didn’t have a burglar’s visit. πŸ™‚ I didn’t think the ‘invading’ part was to be taken literal. I can’t think of anyone getting to close, though. strangest thing is that two days ago I dreamed of getting a job at an ‘office-tower’ ( something I never did in my life), when I got to a desk, someone told me my work was already done by someone else, sort of like one of the examples you gave in your post.
    I have to think about that a little more… πŸ˜‰
    people often told me that I follow my instincts too much, instead of making a rational approach of things.
    these days I think about the song ‘High time he went’ by RenΓ©e. it seems to speak to me more than it used to. πŸ™‚
    I’m not really sure if I want to control my dreams, but I’ll read something about ‘lucid dreaming’.

  4. Ronald Lacey says:

    what you’ve said in your posts helped me out to find out more about all the dreams I’ve had this year, some I’m much obliged for that. πŸ˜‰
    I had to do some ‘puinruimen’ in my life, so that’s the reason for this following post after 2 months.
    I found the answer I’ve dreamed about for ‘a life made easier’, strangely enough it was during the day when I was wide awake. I suddenly remembered that my brother- in that dream- told me to get my life back on the right track.
    I’ve red about lucid dreaming and I already had some benefit of that.
    there was this one dream I was back at a shitty job I’ve once had and I had a big ‘oh no’ feeling about it. within my dream I thought it wasn’t real, so I actually managed to -sort of- control my dream there.
    a strangest thing also happened : in a dream I thought I was waking up in my own room, but I wasn’t, it was just part of my dream. I can’t recall anything happened like that before and it was a sort of frightening. I ”woke up” and saw someone standing at my bedroom door. the ‘shadow’ jumped on me and when I was trying to fight back I woke up for real. ( very relieved, you can imagine that) πŸ™‚
    this is something I still can’t explain: last summer I was at home after a day out in the countryside and I felt like my body and soul lost all ”weight”, it was a feeling I’ve never had before. it felt like ‘not a care in the world’. it almost seemed like someone gave me that feeling although I was alone in my room.
    I think I just have to cherish that moment. sometimes dreaming and being awake seem to cross lines.

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      Hello Ronald,

      So glad to hear you’re making progress. Good for you! Lucid dreams can occur while you’re awake, that’s not uncommon, it’s like a trance state of mind, like meditating.
      And well done on the controlling part, that’s a really big step forward!

      About you waking up in your dream and seeing someone I can add a bit of advice. Once you start to ‘enhance’ your dreamtime, you can come across ‘things’ from the other side. They can be positive or negative, but one way to protect yourself from such encounters is to create a ball of light around yourself before you go to sleep.

      Just lie down and visualize a gold, yellow or white ball of light around your belly button, the colour differs to every person, just see what comes naturally. When it has a nice glow, visualize it getting larger and larger, untill you are completely wrapped up inside it. When you wake up the next morning, give thanks to the ball of light for protecting you. You can also give thanks to a god or goddess or the universe or something, whatever feels right to you πŸ™‚

      Thank you so much for sharing. Dream big, dream magical, dream save!

  5. Ronald Lacey says:

    hi Lisa, thnx for your advice: it brought me back to my childhood and to recent times. when I was about 4 or 5 years old I had a terrible nightmare. I thought of a protection: a sphere of stardust that moved slowly around me. it helped me keep bad dreams away. πŸ™‚
    just lately, before I went to sleep, I asked the moon for protection and thanked her the next day. (I remember doing that before in my life)
    a bit odd that I already thought of the things you gave as an advice.
    I think it’s strange that lucid dreaming can happen when you’re awake, I guess that’s what happened to me last summer and recently. I wonder what you mean by ‘things’ from the other side. maybe it’s because you want to get a hold of your dreamworld and you seem to come into another dimension.(?)
    cause it’s Saturday, I had the chance to wake up slow and I could think about what I’ve dreamed this night. through the week it’s a bit more difficult, cause the alarmclock is cruel. πŸ˜‰ still I sometimes manage to recall my dreams during the working week.
    I hope for a Koninginnedag with nice weather btw. regards, RL

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      It doesn’t surprise me you did something similar as a child. As children our instincts are stronger. Unfortunately most people loose the ability to trust their instincts when they grow older. Shame really, because it’s not called ‘instinct’ for nothing, it can help, guide and protect us through life πŸ™‚

      ‘Things’ is indeed a vague term, I chose it deliberately, because people often have their own interpretation of what is ‘real’ to them and what’s not πŸ™‚
      To me ‘things’ can be entities, ghosts, rest energy, elementals, fairies and what not, let’s just say I’m open to almost everything as long as it feels ‘real’ to me.

      During your working days it is harder to keep track of your dreams. This is why some people choose to keep a dream journal on their nightstand. So you can jot some words down in your journal. This is often enough to remember the whole dream when you look at the words again later that day.

      And a happy Queensday to you as well! It looks like it will at least be sunny. Kind of excited to witness a coronation. I was only a little girl when Queen Beatrix ascended the throne. We live in interesting times πŸ™‚

  6. Ronald Lacey says:

    I remember an article from MAD-magazine where they told you that everything in life is already learned in the schoolyard. ofcourse it’s satire, but the examples they gave were kind of unavoidable. πŸ™‚

    interesting what you’ve said about instincts from childhood. I guess you can share the moon under the examples you gave for protectors.
    what tese ‘things’ are concerned : I don’t think life is just about static facts, I think there is more to it. you seem to know more about that.

    I was also a child when the queen entered the throne in 1980. I still have a souvenir all the children at school got that day, a cup with both Juliana and Beatrix on it. maybe kids get a thing like that this time.
    I hope tuesday will be a day like ‘it should’, a soft, enjoyable day. I hope no one is going to spoil the coronation with mayhem or bs like that.

    btw: I’m not sure if your weblog is meant for conversations like this, but it’s nice to have a chat about dreams and things that go along with it every now and then.

    πŸ˜‰

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      I think there is more between Heaven and Earth than we humans can percieve, so no, not just static facts πŸ˜‰
      And most of us get a glimpse of that, you just have to trust what it is you’re seeing, feeling, smelling or hearing. Grown ups are prone to dismiss things they cannot explain as codswallop, it’s just a trick of the mind, but perhaps it is not. I choose to believe it is not and trust my senses, it makes me a happier person living this way πŸ™‚

      The Moon is a perfect example, as is the Sun.

      I don’t mind your postings at all, they are highly appreciated. I wouldn’t be writing blogs if I didn’t want to know how other people deal with the things in life I come across, so post and ask away! πŸ™‚

  7. Ronald Lacey says:

    I seem to have some succes with remembering my dreams after the cruel alarmclock in the morning.
    my dreams go from ‘soft tone’ to horror.

    what’s this with dreams and flying btw?
    just the other night I had a dream where I just got into some people’s car cause I didn’t have any transport to get home. the guy behind the wheel said: ”I’ve got a car these days which can fly”.(and it did) πŸ™‚
    it’s not the first time I’ve dreamed about flying and some people told me they had ‘flying-dreams’ too…

    I never heard of the word ‘ codswallop’. πŸ™‚
    I like your statement about ‘being a happier person’ cause you trust on your senses.

    past times I’ve got two items running a lot through my dreams : one is work and the other is persons which I once knew and now appear in my dreams again. you think it’s your memory working during the night?
    I’m not sure if persons can give you messages through dreams.

    • Lisa Veldkamp says:

      Sorry for the late reply Ronald! Just noticed your reaction *slaps forehead*.

      About people giving you messages in your dreams, I guess it depends on how you look at it. Like I mentioned before, I like to keep an open mind, so actual people giving you messages, why not? But having said that, don’t rule out your own subconcious. Mostly we sort of know how people we know are going to react, so why loose that knowledge in a dream? It’s probably even more accurate, because there’s less of a filter, like trying to be polite πŸ™‚

      Flying is very common in dreams and van mean many, many things. Again, the most important thing is, how does it make you feel? Happy, scared, tense, free? Your own gut instinct tends to be the right one.

      There’s a difference though between actual flying in a dream and ‘leaving your body’. This is referred to as astral travel and most people do it without even knowing they’re doing it. Little tell-tale signs are waking up with a jolt (being pulled back into your body) with a sense your falling out of bed, when in fact you lie perfectly in the middle πŸ™‚

      Another sign can be deaming in full-colour or dolby digital surround sound. Can you smell things in your dream? Try dreaming about food and actually smelling it, makes for good practice! πŸ™‚

      Your memory is always trying to find solutions to your current problems and ‘dreamtime’ is a perfect place to solve them, so yes, your memory is probably helping you along πŸ™‚

      • Ronald Lacey says:

        maybe you didn’t want to work on your weblog the past weeks, cause different things were on your mind. routine can be easy, but also killing.
        I understand what you say about people appearing in your dreams. you know them, so they react as you expact them to react.

        the flying thing in my dream didn’t give any particular feeling as far as I know.

        having said that I got more grip on my dreams through the week…well, that was over the past weeks. that’s the contradiction of your dreamworld and the every day life, where things are asked of you, like being at a place on a certain time.

        I can’t really recall having these dolby-surround etc. dreams.. πŸ™‚
        I ‘ve had dreams where I felt like falling and waking up ‘perfectly in the middle’, although I don’t know if that’s got to do with astral travel, like you’ve mentioned.
        btw, if I had to chose a soundtrack for life I’d probably choose Joy Division.
        grts, πŸ˜‰

      • Lisa Veldkamp says:

        Joy Division, great band πŸ™‚

        And yes, sometimes a routine becomes so routine, you forget the routine, how’s that for irony! πŸ™‚

        It sounds like you’re making good progress with the having a grip part on your dreams! They are fascinating, are they not? Our subconcious mind is a wonderful and mystical thing indeed.

        And yet we use so little of the human brain, often makes me wonder what ancient sociaties like Egypt could do with their mind, if you look at the pyramids, imagine the possibilities!

        Have a great weekend and enjoy the full moon, she’s a beauty this month!

  8. Ronald Lacey says:

    yes, I see the irony in that one. πŸ™‚
    what this grip on my dreams part is concerned, it goes on and off with remembering my dreams. I still find it difficult getting grip on my dreamworld, but that’s so fascinating also.
    I agree with you on the subconcious being mystical. I like it, cause the everyday world can be a bit too static. you can see dreams as a hiding place at night.
    full moon is something special, I always enjoy the sight and the beautiful light.
    you enjoy your weekend too, πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

