Ramblings of a modern druidess

As I sit in my favorite coffee establishment while the rain is falling on the streets, I take another sip of my cappuchino (made with care and love) and look back on a busy, yet satisfying weekend.

20120808-160921.jpg

When the festival season begins people in Holland go to Pinkpop, Parkpop, basically any kind of pop to end with Lowlands, which closes the festival season. I myself am a big Pinkpop fan.

But there is another festival, not widely known, but very worth your while. The music is different, the people dress like a Dangerous Liasons, a Lord of the rings or Jane Austen movie and for some reasons this is the also the place where vampires roam in broad daylight. The food is mostly bio-organic and very diverse and you’ll find no trash, not even a paper napkin on the grass.

When you arrive and walk through the forest that leads up to the castle in the distance you instantly feel welcome when you reach the entrance and the organisation greets you with a great big smile. I don’t have to throw away my water, in fact, I can bring anything I want. Food, umbrella’s, drinks, camping chairs, plaids, everything is cleared with a big smile and they wave and tell me to enjoy my weekend.

You get a lovely booklet with the program. A variety of shops with real craftmanship, lots of workshops, a drumcircle (which I attend every year and is just magical!), readings, talks and of course music, lots and lots of music.

20120808-161014.jpg

This festival is the Festival of Light, in honour of Lugh, our Sungod, for it is always held on the first weekend of August, during or around Lughnasadh.

This festival is called Castlefest and for everyone who wants to feel welcome without prejudice and wants to experience something different, be sure to check it out next year, I know I will 🙂

20120808-161108.jpg

Until next week peeps!

2 thoughts on “Ramblings of a modern druidess

  1. Fallingleaf says:

    Sounds like a wonderful idea – when my son is a bit older, it might make for a great family outing 🙂

Leave a Reply

