Ramblings of a modern druidess

Have I shared with you all I’m a harpist? I truly love this instrument, but I’ve only been playing for 18 months. To me it creates a magical sound and brings me to different worlds, different galaxies even. When I learned the basics I composed several melodies for the seasonal highlights of the year, I call them Harp Healing Meditations, because besides being a beautiful instrument, the harp can have a great healing effect on the mind and body. Not only humans, but even most animals respond to the sound of the harp.

Tonight however, I’m going to let myself float away to the amazing sounds performed by Gwyneth Wentink, who amongst other pieces, will perform Debussy’s Clair de Lune , one of my favorites. She will perform at the Hortus Botanicus in Leiden, a beautiful old Dutch city, the city where I was born.

20120801-113744.jpg

Gwyneth plays on a original Érard harp.
Sebastien Érard was a true genius. Not only did he build piano’s, but he developed the pedalsystem for the harp, which enabled harpists around the world to play chromatic harp making it an orchestral instrument!

The program I’ll be listening to tonight;

”La Harpe” – Debussy’s Clair de Lune on Érard harp

J.l.Dussek – (Sonata), F.Liszt – (Le Rossignol), G.Fauré – (Impromptu op 86), C.Debussy – (Clair de Lune, La Fille aux Cheveux de Lin, Bruyères), F.Godefroid – (Carneval de Venise)

Enjoy the Music inside your head and heart! Until next week!

Leave a Reply

