Ramblings of a modern druidess

Do you know that feeling when you have a million good ideas, but nothing really gets you going to put your thoughts into action?

I’ve been having these moments on and off for the last three months or so. I’m just bursting with creativity, but my head is so busy, my body can’t keep up or so it seems.

Now how to break that cycle? Prioritize could be one way to go, so I did. I sat myself down and made a list with everything I wanted to do. Then I rearranged the list and put the things I wanted to begin with on top. It did have one side-effect though, more things came popping into my head, just peachy.

So I tried another method. Talking it through with your friends. Always very effective, though things can get a bit too cozy and you loose track of the original conversation. But at least I noticed one or two topics came up the most, so they must be of the utmost importance to me right now, right? Right?

Then I thought about letting go, just go with the flow and see what happens. But nothing happened! I finished several books, yes and I surfed the internet and watched some lovely movies, I had a great time, but did I get anything done? That would be a great big nope.

So finally I sat myself down and started with one of my ideas and just worked. After two hours I took a break and in the afternoon I made quite some progress on another project. What I came to realize is, even though I don’t like to admit it, sometimes I just need a good kick in the butt to get myself going.

If you recognize the above, go ahead and join me in a nice gentle ass-whooping. Nothing to severe, just enough to get you going 😉

Would love to hear about your progress! Until next week 😉

One thought on “Ramblings of a modern druidess

  1. “I like deadlines, especially the wooshing sound they make when they go by” to probably misquote DouglasAdams.

    Man If I could just invent a ‘kick my own butt machine’ I’d be set for life. I’m terrible at motivating myself even for things I love to do. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not lazy when repercussions will follow failure. I’m a stick and carrot girl all the way.
    But when I’m supposed to work for myself without stress and pressure I end up timewasting on a monumental scale. I’ve never been able to understand why this is. The only thing that helps me feel a bit better about my uselessness is that people whose work I admire, like Douglas Adams and Dave Eggers, have admitted how staggeringly hard they found it to get any work done. Dave Eggers once explained how he needs a whole uninterupted day in his “writing-shed” to get 45 minutes of useful writing done.

    My unfinished (or never begun) project list is shamefully long. I will follow your example and write the list down. I love making lists, list are great, as long as I’m making lists I don’t have to work on the actual projects… ooops.

Leave a Reply

